Where The Road Ends (or begins).

by maddicook

photo

(Image: ‘cocobanks’)

Confession time: I always believed the media industry to be quite one-dimensional. You research an issue, you publish a story, and your outlook gets delivered to an audience. However, throughout the past eight weeks I have been exposed numerous issues relating to convergent media practices which have revealed a range of dynamic concepts within the media industry, in turn, compelling me alter my original judgment.

One of my favourite posts would have to be ‘This Revolution Will Be Tweeted’ (April 10). This post uncovered the implications for traditional news media outlets due to new forms of information collecting and distributing, such as citizen journalism. It explored the demise traditional media outlets due to a rise in user generated content. This post made me grasp the changing dynamic of the journalism industry, an important topic for me, as this is a world I hope to become a part of in the near future.

Another post of great interest to me was, Big Things Come From Small Beginnings’ (April 17). This post explored the new ‘Transmedia’ world that the media has embraced in an attempt to reconnect with our society, dominated by electronic media. Like my post on Citizen Journalism, (‘This Revolution Will Be Tweeted’), I was able to recognize the importance of user participation and our growing necessity to be able to contribute to the media world.

My most recent post, ‘By Anonymous’ (May 14), was possibly the most influential post as it explored the darker side of the media world. In this post I was able to explore the dangers of open online content, including the absence of gatekeepers and zero cost of entry, through the important issue of online sexism. Within this post I hoped to resonate that while the power is now in the prosumers hands, an issue explored in all of my previous posts, amid this great power also comes great responsibility. I believe this is something that all prosumers should be aware of.

I think the most significant thing I have learnt from this incredible experience is that users are no longer merely consumers; we now have the power and means to contribute and generate media on various platforms. However this new era of participatory media has also revealed that while it is hard to determine a set of rules or laws that are universal to all prosumers on the Internet, the need for user responsibility is exceedingly important. Blogging has taught me that meeting a deadline involves dedication and organization, and has significantly improved my writing and referencing skills, and my ability to critically analyze a text.

I hope to take from this experience the knowledge that ‘prosumers’ now have the ability to make a difference; we need to make the most of it. 

